Wednesday, February 1, 2017

9s Introduction to Adobe Illustrator: Pen Tool Basics



Pen Tool Basics

This tutorial is about drawing with the Pen tool. The Pen tool is Illustrator’s workhorse. It takes time to learn how to use, but is one of the key drawing tools in Illustrator. The best way to learn the Pen Tool is to trace over sketches. Before we get to that, this is a basic overview of the pen tool.

Before you start using the Pen tool, you’ll want to set your colors. Illustrator has two color options the Fill color (the color inside a shape) and the Stroke color (or the outline color). I like to draw with a Stroke color and no Fill color. You can change the colors of the Fill and Stroke on the Toolbar using the Swatch palette. To get the Swatch palette, go to Window > Swatches.

After your Swatch palette is open, click on the color you want. I chose black. Notice you are editing either the Stroke or the Fill based on which one is on top on the Toolbar. To edit the other one , click on the one underneath (either the fill or the stroke). It will move to the front, then click on a swatch in the Swatch palette for that one. The white swatch with the red line through it is no color.

The pen tool works by placing anchor points down and drawing lines in between them. Click on the artboard (the area of the file you draw on) with the pen tool selected. You’ll notice a little blue point appears.

Now click on another place on the artboard. Another point appears and a line is drawn between the two points.
Next, make a third point.
Finally, conect the third point to the first. To do this you’ll need to click on the original point. Hover your tool tip or mouse pointer over the original point. You’ll know you’re over the point when a small circle appears next to your pen tool, then click on the point. Your line or path is closed. Congratulations, you have just made a shape with the Pen tool. Look out Picasso! You’ve created a lopsided triangle.
Let’s make a curved line now. Make your first point. Then, make your second point, but don’t release the mouse. Instead, drag the mouse downward or upward slowly. You’ll notice the line starts to curve. When you get the curve you want, release the mouse button.
Now make another point. You’ll notice Illustrator makes a reciprocal curve.
Let’s say you aren’t happy with that curve. You can go to Edit > Undo Pen to delete the last step. Or maybe you change your mind, go to Edit > Redo Pen and it is back.
That curve still doesn’t look right to you, so let’s manually adjust it. Go to Toolbar and select the Direct Selection tool (it’s the white arrow).
You’ll notice that whenever you make a curved line it has a little blue handle (or other layer color) that comes off of it. You can use this to adjust the curve. Click and grab the point at the end of the handle and move your mouse around to adjust the curve. Once you get the curve right release the mouse button.
After all that, you still hate your curved line, so let’s delete it. Select the Selection tool, the black arrow on the Toolbar and click on your curved line. Then hit Delete on the keyboard. It should be gone. You can always Undo it if you want it back. To make your life easier, I have a list of keyboard shortcuts for the Toolbar tools here.
Finally, let’s make a line that curves then goes straight. Make a curved line like you did before.
Instead of making another point, click on the Direct Selection or the Selection tool and deselect your line. To deselect your line, just click on a blank spot on the artboard using one of the Selection tools. A good trick to switching between the Pen tool and your last used Selection tool is to hold down the Command (Apple) key on a Mac or the Control key on a PC. Try it out. Select the Pen tool on the Toolbar. Now hold down the Command/Control key. You’ll notice the tool tip change from the Pen to the Selection tool.
Back to your curved line. To restart drawing on the same line, hover your mouse over the end point like you did when you were closing a shape or path. This time instead of a circle beside the Pen tool tip, you’ll see a slash mark. This means you’re over the point. Click on it and then make your next point and your line will continue. You should have a line that curves then goes straight.
Pen Tool Assignment:
Try a tutorial on how to draw curves in the "Share" folder on the school network. Save it to the share folder with your name.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBouhf4seWQ

10s Ribbon Banner


You are to create a banner for your blog. I want you to make it with Adobe Illustrator and start with a ribbon.
Easy Ribbon Tutorial
Then try to make a custom swirl to create a swirly space around your text
Custom Swirl Tutorial
Now try a text effect tutorial
Text Effect Tutorial

Make you own banner with your name and graphics, colours that suit you include swirls a banner and text that suits your personality.

Start your New file size: 728 x 90  set units to "pixels"

Monday, November 21, 2016

Photoshop Portrait

We are going to play with your face using Adobe Photoshop. In this assignment, you are going to learn about basic photo editing and manipulation techniques. First we need the photo of you.
Here are some Photoshop editing tutorials if your want to further your Photoshop skills...
http://photoshoproadmap.com/35-creative-portrait-effects-photoshop-tutorials/ 

We are going to learn about Photoshop.
Basic Photoshop Techniques
  1. Basic tool bar functions.
  2. Sizing and cropping an image.
  3. How to adjust exposure- Image- Adjustments- Levels. 
 
     
     
Filters
  • Duplicate your portrait layer (the one with the original photo called "Background", right click on the layer, select Duplicate).
  • Experiment with Filters (in the filter menu). Make a New Duplicate layer for each of the filters, but turn off the Visability of the other filter layers with each one. Label your layers with the corresponding filter effect.Try: 
  1. Sketch>Stamp,
  2. Stylize>Find Edges, 
  3. Artistic>Cut Out, 
  4. Brush Strokes> you choose
  5. Pixelsate> Color Halftone 
 Then try a 5 more filters and combinations of filter

Hue & Saturation
  • Open a new portrait and check out the "Hue & Saturation" Adjustment layer.
  • Click colourize and experiment with the saturation and levels.
  • Change the colors and "Save As" the filter name for each of the filter experiments.
  • Then try a few Image> Adjustment techniques : 
 
Then we are going to create a composite of 9 manipulated portraits to post to your blog.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Portrait Studio Sessions Today

Look your best. We are going to take photos of you in the LFAS photo studio. While you are waiting, work on your self-portrait objects/elements in Illustrator. Then we will have an introduction to Photoshop next.

Sunday, November 6, 2016

Computer Arts Term1

Here is a list of assignments for Term 1:
Computer Arts 9
  1. About Me
  2. Pen Tool Tutorials
  3. Pear with Background
  4. Vector Animal with Background
  5. Apple Mesh Tool
Computer Arts 10
  1. About Me
  2. Banner- Ribbon scroll, brush swirl, Illustrator font.
  3. Graphic Mind Map- Five+ points about you arranged graphically with images
  4. Self-Portrait Illustrator re-created images:  1, 2, 3, 4

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Graphic Mind Map

Create a graphic mind map using Illustrator.
Start with you in the centre.
Include 10+ things about you- interests/hobbies, family, personality, education, pastimes, history
Arrange your information in a meaningful/graphic way to describe you.
Use the Text tools to arrange your information graphically.
Include images to represent key parts of who you are.
Draw items that reflect something about you.